Becoming a City

Becoming A City
Beamish Street
A new City of Canterbury Bankstown was announced by the NSW Government on 12 May 2016, becoming the largest Council in NSW with 350,000 residents. council city cantebury bankstown A new City of Canterbury Bankstown was announced by the NSW Government on 12 May 2016, becoming the largest Council in NSW with 350,000 residents.  
Beamish Street

​ 

The new City of Canterbury Bankstown was proclaimed by the NSW Government on 12 May 2016, replacing the former Bankstown and Canterbury Councils, becoming the largest Council in NSW, by population, with more than 361,000 residents.

The Government-appointed Administrator, Mr Richard Colley, led the transition of the new Council for a period of 18 months, leading up to the 9 September 2017 election. Fifteen councillors were elected, three in each of the five Wards.

On 26 September 2017, Councillor Khal Asfour was elected, by his peers, the inaugural Mayor and will lead the Council for two years. Councillor Nadia Saleh was appointed Deputy Mayor, a position she will hold for one year.

Current Councillors 

​​

Bankstown / Darani Ward
Clr Khal As​four (ALP)
Mayor@cbcity.nsw.gov.au
Mayor
Clr Bilal El-Hayek (ALP)
Bilal.El-Hayek@cbcity.nsw.gov.au
Deputy Mayor 
Clr George Zakhia (LIB)​
George.Zakhia@cbcity.nsw.gov.au
Bass Hill / Bura Ward
Clr Chris Cahill (ALP)
Christopher.Cahill@cbcity.nsw.gov.au
Clr ​Rachelle Harika (ALP)
Rachelle.Harika@cbcity.nsw.gov.au
Clr Charlie Ishac (LIB)
Charlie.Ishac@cbcity.nsw.gov.au
​Canterbury / Budjar Ward
Clr Barbara Coorey (IND)
Barbara.Coorey@cbcity.nsw.gov.au
Clr ​Jessie Nguyen (LIB)
Jessie.Nguyen@cbcity.nsw.gov.au
Clr Clare Raffan (ALP)
Clare.Raffan@cbcity.nsw.gov.au
​​Revesby / Bunya Ward
Clr Charbel Abouraad (LIB)
Charbel.Abouraad@cbcity.nsw.gov.au
Clr ​Linda Downey (ALP)
Linda.Downey@cbcity.nsw.gov.au
ClrDavid Walsh (ALP)
David.Walsh@cbcity.nsw.gov.au
Roselands / Bunmarra Ward
ClrSazeda Akter (LIB)
Sazeda.Akter@cbcity.nsw.gov.au
 
Clr Khodr (Karl) Saleh OAM (ALP)
K.Saleh@cbcity.nsw.gov.au
 

Clr Bhadra Waiba (ALP)
Bhadra.Waiba@cbcity.nsw.gov.au

 

 

 

Contact

For any Council-related issues, contact our Customer Service Centre on 9707 9000.​